Skip to content

Daily EV news · UK · 16 January 2026

All UK EV news

Every item reviewed before publishing · sources cited inline

EV Charging

Morrisons Fakenham opens ultra-fast EV charging hub

A new ultra-fast electric vehicle charging hub has opened at the Morrisons supermarket in Fakenham, Norfolk. The Fakenham & Wells Times reported the launch, though the article does not specify the number of chargers, power output or operator. The site adds public charging infrastructure to the market town location.

Why it matters

Supermarket forecourt charging continues to expand UK public networks, offering dwell-time retail integration that appeals to both site hosts and charge point operators. The Fakenham deployment signals ongoing grocery-anchor rollout beyond major urban centres.

United Kingdom
16 Jan 2026 · date approximate

Morrisons (uk) · Source

UK households face new driveway charge under confirmed policy

Birmingham Live reports that a new charge for UK households with driveways has been confirmed, though the article does not specify the amount, implementation date or administering authority. The policy appears to affect residential properties with off street parking. Further details on scope and exemptions remain unclear from the available excerpt.

Why it matters

Any levy on driveways could influence home charging economics for EV owners and shift demand toward public infrastructure, particularly if the charge applies to properties installing dedicated charge points. CPOs and local authorities may see changes in residential versus kerbside charging patterns if the policy proceeds.

United Kingdom
16 Jan 2026 · date approximate

Source

Sunderland City Council to install EV charge points across parks and visitor sites

Sunderland City Council has announced plans to deploy electric vehicle charge points at parks and visitor sites across the city. The initiative aims to expand public charging infrastructure in recreational and tourist areas. No specific site numbers or installation timeline were disclosed in the announcement.

Why it matters

The move signals growing local authority interest in destination charging at leisure venues, opening procurement opportunities for CPOs and installers targeting council frameworks. Parks and visitor sites represent a less saturated segment than car parks or kerbside locations.

United Kingdom
16 Jan 2026 · date approximate

Sunderland City Council (uk) · Source

Electric Vehicles

Twechar charity launches £55,960 electric minibus for elderly residents with SP Energy Networks grant

Twechar Community Action in Scotland has replaced its diesel minibus with a new electric vehicle funded by a £55,960 grant from SP Energy Networks' Transmission Net Zero Fund. The bus provides free, accessible transport for elderly residents, those with restricted mobility and low income families, following local consultation that identified urgent need for tailored travel services. The switch to electric aims to cut running costs, reduce local car journeys and lower emissions while supporting Scotland's net zero goals.

Why it matters

The project demonstrates how utility funded grants can enable community transport electrification, creating a replicable model for accessible EV services in rural or underserved areas. It shows demand for electric minibus charging infrastructure in community settings where cost savings and emissions reduction align with social inclusion objectives.

United Kingdom
16 Jan 2026

Twechar (uk) · Source

Electric cars to outnumber diesels on UK roads by 2030, analysis finds

New analysis predicts that battery electric vehicles will exceed the number of diesel cars on British roads by 2030, marking a significant shift in the national fleet mix. The forecast, reported by This is Money, reflects accelerating EV adoption against a backdrop of declining diesel registrations. No specific fleet figures or methodology details were disclosed in the excerpt.

Why it matters

A diesel to EV crossover by 2030 signals sustained demand for public and workplace charging infrastructure, particularly as fleets electrify and home charging alone cannot serve all drivers. Procurement teams and charge point operators should plan capacity expansions now to meet the infrastructure needs of a rapidly growing EV parc.

United Kingdom
16 Jan 2026 · date approximate

Source

Grid & Energy

UK household uses EV to power home during Storm Goretti blackout

This is Money reports that a British household relied on their electric vehicle to supply electricity during a power cut caused by Storm Goretti. The article describes how vehicle to home technology allowed the EV to act as a backup power source when the grid failed. No specific figures on duration or capacity were provided in the excerpt.

Why it matters

The incident demonstrates real world demand for vehicle to grid and vehicle to home capabilities, which may influence procurement specifications for workplace and public charging infrastructure that supports bidirectional power flows.

United Kingdom
16 Jan 2026 · date approximate

Source

Policy & Market

Scotland sets 2030 petrol and diesel phase-out and 2040 zero-emission vehicle target in draft Climate Change Plan

The Scottish Government published its draft Climate Change Plan on 6 November 2025, beginning 120 days of parliamentary scrutiny. The plan covers 2026 to 2040 across three five-year carbon budgets and sets two key transport outcomes: phasing out new petrol and diesel cars and vans by 2030, and achieving zero-emission road vehicles by 2040. The approach to cutting transport greenhouse gas emissions focuses on electric vehicle uptake and reducing the need to travel, with no predicted emissions reductions from aviation or shipping over the period.

Why it matters

The 2030 phase-out deadline and 2040 zero-emission target will drive demand for public and workplace charging infrastructure across Scotland, shaping procurement priorities and site deployment timelines for charge point operators over the next 15 years.

United Kingdom
Scotland
16 Jan 2026

SPICe Spotlight · Source