Skip to content

Daily EV news · UK · 19 January 2026

All UK EV news

Every item reviewed before publishing · sources cited inline

EV Charging

Hackney launches resident survey to guide rollout of 3,000 charge points by 2030

Hackney Council has opened a public survey asking residents to identify preferred locations for new on-street EV charge points, aiming to expand its network from 1,200 existing chargers to 3,000 by 2030. The East London borough already leads London with 464 chargers per 100,000 people and offers residents a flat 59p per kWh rate or a £16.25 monthly unlimited charging subscription through its CPO partner Zest and energy service Hackney Light and Power. The survey will inform lamppost and parking bay installations designed to maintain pedestrian access.

Why it matters

Hackney's resident-led site selection model and ambitious 2030 target signal a procurement approach that prioritises community input alongside dense urban coverage, offering CPOs a blueprint for scaling networks in space-constrained boroughs. The council's dual tariff structure and existing density benchmark set competitive expectations for operators bidding on similar municipal contracts across the UK.

United Kingdom
19 Jan 2026

Hackney Council (uk) · Source

East Yorkshire petrol station offers free EV charging to customers

A petrol station in East Yorkshire, described as the area's cheapest fuel retailer, is providing free electric vehicle charging to customers. The initiative is part of the site's service offering, though the article does not specify the number of chargers, power ratings or duration of the free charging period. Hull Live reported the development as part of local business coverage.

Why it matters

The move illustrates how traditional fuel retailers are experimenting with EV charging as a customer draw, though the viability of free charging as a long term business model remains unclear. Procurement teams may note the trend of petrol forecourts adding charge points to retain footfall as vehicle electrification accelerates.

United Kingdom
19 Jan 2026 · date approximate

Source

Warwickshire village installs solar-backed EV hub with six 22kW and two 50kW chargers

Harbury, Warwickshire, is building a public EV charging facility in the village car park featuring six 22kW fast chargers and two 50kW rapid chargers, partly powered by solar panels on the village hall extension. Harbury Future Energy led the project, which began in 2019, citing the UK's petrol and diesel phase out and the low likelihood of commercial operators serving rural areas. The group says the model is scalable for other rural communities facing grid constraints.

Why it matters

The project demonstrates a community-led procurement model for rural EV infrastructure where commercial operators are reluctant to invest, offering a replicable template for villages addressing grid limitations. The mix of 22kW and 50kW chargers with on-site solar generation may inform future rural hub specifications and funding strategies.

United Kingdom
19 Jan 2026 · date approximate

Source

Electric Vehicles

Third generation Nissan LEAF wins Company Car and Van 'Car to Watch' award ahead of UK deliveries

The all-electric third generation Nissan LEAF, now in production at the Sunderland plant, has been named 'Car to Watch' for 2026 by Company Car and Van magazine. The model offers a maximum range of up to 386 miles and has won multiple awards including The Sun's Car of the Year before UK customer deliveries begin. Editor Andrew Walker cited generous pricing, excellent range, clever technology and decent handling as reasons for the award.

Why it matters

Fleet adoption of the British built LEAF with its 386 mile range will drive workplace and depot charging demand, particularly as company car schemes accelerate electrification. The model's competitive pricing and range position it to expand the addressable market for destination and en route charging infrastructure across the UK.

United Kingdom
19 Jan 2026

Nissan (global) · Source

Torquay bus routes altered as electric fleet upgrade begins

Torbay Weekly reports that major route changes are underway in Torquay as the local bus operator transitions to electric vehicles. The upgrade is forcing adjustments to service patterns, though specific route numbers, fleet size or charging infrastructure details were not disclosed in the available excerpt. The changes reflect operational requirements tied to deploying battery electric buses in the Devon coastal town.

Why it matters

Route redesigns during electric bus rollouts signal infrastructure or range constraints that procurement teams and charge point operators must anticipate when planning depot charging and network coverage for transit fleets.

United Kingdom
19 Jan 2026 · date approximate

Source

Stagecoach credits partnership model for Lakes Connection electric bus rollout success

Stagecoach has attributed the successful deployment of its Lakes Connection electric bus service to a partnership approach, according to Route One. The operator launched the service in the Lake District, though the article does not specify fleet size or charging infrastructure details. The report highlights collaboration as a key factor in the rollout.

Why it matters

The partnership model cited by Stagecoach may offer lessons for CPOs and local authorities planning depot charging infrastructure for bus electrification projects. Understanding collaborative frameworks can inform procurement strategies for large scale fleet charging deployments in rural and tourist areas.

United Kingdom
19 Jan 2026 · date approximate

Stagecoach (uk) · Source