Skip to content

Daily EV news · UK · 16 February 2026

All UK EV news

Every item reviewed before publishing · sources cited inline

EV Charging

Association of British Insurers outlines implications of EV charging for home and motor insurance

The Association of British Insurers has published guidance on what electric vehicle charging means for home and motor insurance policies in the United Kingdom. The piece addresses considerations for policyholders who install chargepoints at their properties.

Why it matters

Installers and chargepoint operators serving the residential market should be aware of evolving insurer expectations, as these may influence homeowner decisions on chargepoint procurement and could shape requirements around installation standards and liability.

United Kingdom
16 Feb 2026 · date approximate

Association of British Insurers (uk) · Source

EZO EV charger network to mandate user accounts and app for access

West Coast Today reports that EZO, an EV charging operator, will require drivers to create an account and use a mobile app to access its chargers. The change affects existing EZO charge points, though the report does not specify a timeline or the current size of the network. The move follows a broader industry trend towards app based payment and session management.

Why it matters

Procurement teams and site hosts should note that mandating apps can affect user experience and accessibility compliance, potentially influencing utilisation rates and customer satisfaction at EZO equipped locations.

United Kingdom
16 Feb 2026

EZO (uk) · Source

Legal expert warns forecourt operators of hidden risks in EV charger and valeting kit leases

Forecourt Trader has published legal guidance highlighting potential pitfalls in equipment lease agreements for EV charging and valeting infrastructure at UK forecourts. The article, part of a Legal Doctor series, addresses contractual risks that operators may face when leasing rather than purchasing charging hardware. It comes as more petrol retailers add EV charging to their sites through third party finance arrangements.

Why it matters

Lease structures are increasingly common in forecourt EV deployments, yet hidden clauses on maintenance, upgrades and early termination can materially affect site economics. Operators evaluating charge point operator partnerships or direct procurement need to scrutinise lease terms to avoid long term liabilities.

United Kingdom
16 Feb 2026 · date approximate

Source

Electric Vehicles

Wrightbus to deliver 11 Electroliners to Pulhams Coaches for Gloucestershire and Oxfordshire routes

Wrightbus has confirmed delivery of four 528 kWh GB Kite Electroliners and seven 442 kWh StreetDeck Electroliners to Pulhams Coaches, part of Go-Ahead-owned Oxford Bus Company. Senior management from Oxford Bus Company visited the Ballymena factory to sign off the order, which will enter service across the Pulhams network in Gloucestershire and Oxfordshire. The announcement was reported in Coach and Bus Week.

Why it matters

The order signals continued fleet electrification by a major UK bus operator and demonstrates Wrightbus securing repeat business from the Go-Ahead group. The dual battery capacity specifications suggest route optimisation planning, relevant for operators and charging infrastructure planners serving similar regional networks.

United Kingdom
16 Feb 2026

Wrightbus (uk) · Pulhams (uk) · Source

Renault 5 and MG4 Urban priced from £21,495 and £21,995 after UK grants

Carwow has compared the Renault 5 and MG4 Urban, two small EVs with closely matched pricing and range. The Renault 5 starts at £21,495 after the UK government grant, offering 120 to 150 hp and 192 to 251 miles of range with 80 to 100 kW charging. The MG4 Urban starts at £21,995 (£23,495 minus MG's £1,500 grant matching reduction), delivering 148 to 158 hp and 201 to 258 miles of range with 82 to 87 kW charging. Carwow notes the MG4 Urban prioritises interior space while the Renault 5 emphasises driving dynamics and retro styling.

Why it matters

The close pricing and specification overlap between these two models highlights intensifying competition in the affordable small EV segment, which may influence fleet procurement decisions and public charging demand patterns as both vehicles qualify for UK government incentives.

United Kingdom
16 Feb 2026 · date approximate

Renault (fr) · MG (cn) · Source

Grid & Energy

Glasgow launches battery recycling campaign to protect waste services from fire risk

Glasgow City Council has started a battery recycling campaign aimed at reducing fire hazards in waste collection and processing facilities. The initiative addresses the growing problem of lithium batteries being incorrectly disposed of in general waste, which can ignite during collection or at recycling centres. The council is promoting proper battery disposal to safeguard waste management operations across the city.

Why it matters

For charge point operators and EV infrastructure teams, safe end of life handling of lithium batteries is becoming a regulatory and operational priority as the volume of electric vehicle batteries and portable power units grows. Local authority campaigns like Glasgow's signal tightening expectations around battery stewardship that may extend to commercial EV operators and depot managers.

United Kingdom
16 Feb 2026 · date approximate

Glasgow City Council (uk) · Source

Policy & Market

Labour urged to extend EV grant and rethink pay per mile tax as rural areas lag in transition

Experts are calling on the UK Government to extend the Electric Car Grant and reconsider pay per mile taxation, warning that rural areas in Scotland and South West England risk being left behind in the shift to zero emission vehicles. New research from Autotrader shows 31.2 per cent of users viewed at least one EV advert in the past 90 days, but interest varies sharply by location, with the KW postcode in Wick, Scotland recording the lowest share at just 21.4 per cent. Labour plans to ban new petrol and diesel car sales from 2030, with only electric vehicles on sale from 2035.

Why it matters

Uneven EV adoption across regions could slow the rollout of charging infrastructure in rural areas, complicating site selection and investment decisions for charge point operators targeting nationwide coverage. Policy changes to grants and taxation will directly affect demand forecasts and the commercial case for deploying chargers in lower uptake postcodes.

United Kingdom
16 Feb 2026

Source

Ten UK postcodes identified as at risk of falling behind in EV transition

The Independent has highlighted ten UK postcodes considered vulnerable to being left behind as the country shifts to electric vehicles. The analysis points to areas where charging infrastructure or other support may be insufficient to support EV adoption. The findings come as the UK approaches its 2030 phase-out date for new petrol and diesel car sales.

Why it matters

Identifying postcodes at risk of inadequate charging provision helps CPOs and local authorities target infrastructure investment where it is most needed to ensure equitable EV transition and meet national rollout targets.

United Kingdom
16 Feb 2026 · date approximate

Source

UK energy firm launches scheme offering drivers £1,100 annual savings

A major UK energy company is rolling out a new programme that could save drivers up to £1,100 per year, according to The Sun. The scheme targets cost reductions for motorists, though specific details about the mechanism or eligibility criteria were not disclosed in the available excerpt. The initiative comes as energy firms explore ways to support drivers amid rising costs.

Why it matters

For CPOs and procurement teams, understanding how energy suppliers structure consumer savings schemes may inform partnership strategies and tariff negotiations. The £1,100 figure suggests significant potential for demand side management or time of use pricing models that could affect charging infrastructure business cases.

United Kingdom
16 Feb 2026 · date approximate

Major UK energy firm (uk) · Source

Rural drivers face steepest bills under UK mileage based electric vehicle tax

Drivers in south west England will pay nearly four times more than London motorists under Labour's 3p per mile road charge for electric cars, due in 2028 and expected to raise £1.1bn annually. Analysis by The Electric Car Scheme shows south west drivers would pay an average of £110.25 per year, compared with £33.09 in London, with the East Midlands second highest at £105.09. Critics warn the regional disparity could slow EV uptake as the government seeks to accelerate sales and offset lost fuel duty revenues.

Why it matters

The steep regional variation in the new levy may dampen EV demand in rural areas where charging infrastructure is already thinner, complicating rollout plans for charge point operators targeting those markets. Procurement teams and fleet managers will need to factor location based cost differences into total cost of ownership models when planning EV transitions.

United Kingdom
16 Feb 2026

Source