Skip to content

Daily EV news · UK · 17 February 2026

All UK EV news

Every item reviewed before publishing · sources cited inline

EV Charging

Leeds switches on first on-street EV chargers with Believ funding

Leeds City Council has installed its first on-street electric vehicle charging point, a four-bay unit on St Paul's Street in the city centre, as part of its ambition to become the UK's first net zero city. The council plans to roll out more public chargers across residential areas, community halls and sports centres throughout 2026. Believ, a UK charging network operator, is funding the scheme under a model that requires no public funds.

Why it matters

The fully funded deployment model removes capital barriers for local authorities seeking to expand on-street charging, while the 2026 rollout timeline signals procurement opportunities for installers and equipment suppliers across Leeds residential and community sites.

United Kingdom
17 Feb 2026 · date approximate

Source

Seven new EV charging points installed across Harborough district

Seven new electric vehicle charging points have been installed across the Harborough district in the United Kingdom, according to Harborough Mail. The rollout adds to the local charging infrastructure, though the report does not specify the operator, exact locations, or charger specifications.

Why it matters

The deployment signals continued expansion of public charging networks in smaller UK districts, creating potential maintenance and operations contracts. CPOs and local authorities tracking regional coverage gaps may view Harborough as part of a broader rural and market town electrification trend.

United Kingdom
17 Feb 2026 · date approximate

Source

Pod Point and SalSac partner to bundle home chargers into salary sacrifice EV schemes for 280 UK employers

Pod Point has partnered with SalSac to offer employees at over 280 UK employers, reaching an estimated 25,000 workers, the option to include a Pod Point Solo 3S home charger and standard installation within their salary sacrifice vehicle lease. Payments are spread across the lease term with no upfront cost, and tax savings reduce the effective charger cost to between £500 and £800 depending on the employee's tax band. The arrangement removes a typical financial barrier to EV adoption by eliminating the initial outlay for home charging infrastructure.

Why it matters

The partnership expands the addressable market for home charger installations by embedding them into salary sacrifice schemes, a growing fleet procurement channel in the UK. For charge point operators and installers, it signals a shift towards bundled, employer funded models that lower barriers to residential charging infrastructure deployment.

United Kingdom
17 Feb 2026 · date approximate

Pod Point (uk) · SalSac (uk) · Source

Gravitricity enters administration as Scottish gravity storage firm seeks buyer

Edinburgh based energy storage company Gravitricity has gone into administration, according to Energy Voice. The firm, which developed gravity based storage technology using suspended weights in mine shafts, is now seeking a buyer through administrators. No financial figures or creditor details were disclosed in the report.

Why it matters

The collapse highlights funding risks for novel storage technologies that compete with battery systems in the EV charging infrastructure stack. Gravitricity's technology was positioned as grid scale storage that could support renewable energy and charging networks, so its failure may prompt CPOs and developers to reassess reliance on emerging storage solutions versus proven lithium ion systems.

United Kingdom
Scotland
17 Feb 2026 · date approximate

Gravitricity (uk) · Source

Electric Vehicles

Dover Fastrack deploys five ZEBRA funded electric buses with pantograph charging

Stagecoach South East, Kent County Council and Dover District Council have launched five Volvo BZL electric buses on the Dover Fastrack network, the first zero emission buses operating in East Kent. Funded through the Department for Transport's ZEBRA scheme, the vehicles offer up to 185 miles of range per charge and are supported by a high powered pantograph charger at Dover Priory station for rapid top ups during service. The buses feature low floor access, wheelchair spaces, digital displays and USB charging at every seat.

Why it matters

The deployment demonstrates how ZEBRA funding is enabling regional bus operators to electrify networks with rapid charging infrastructure, setting a template for similar rollouts across smaller UK towns. The pantograph charger at Dover Priory signals growing interest in opportunity charging to extend operational range without lengthy depot layovers.

United Kingdom
17 Feb 2026

Source

Kent County Council welcomes Dover's first fully electric bus fleet

Kent County Council has announced the arrival of Dover's first fully electric bus fleet, marking a shift to zero emission public transport in the area. The deployment represents a rollout milestone for the council's decarbonisation efforts, though specific fleet size and charging infrastructure details were not disclosed in the available excerpt. The move aligns with broader UK local authority commitments to electrify public transport networks.

Why it matters

The introduction of a fully electric bus fleet in Dover signals growing demand for depot charging infrastructure and associated grid upgrades, creating procurement opportunities for charge point operators and electrical contractors. Local authorities expanding EV bus operations typically require multi year maintenance and energy management contracts, opening pathways for service providers in the public transport electrification sector.

United Kingdom
17 Feb 2026 · date approximate

Kent County Council (uk) · Source

UK coach and bus operators call for three year MoT exemption for electric vehicles

Route One reports that electric coaches and buses should receive a three year MoT (Ministry of Transport test) exemption, according to industry calls in the United Kingdom. The proposal aims to align testing requirements with the operational characteristics of battery electric commercial vehicles. The publication serves the bus and coach sector.

Why it matters

Extended MoT intervals could lower total cost of ownership for depot operators running electric fleets, potentially accelerating procurement decisions for zero emission buses. The regulatory change would reduce compliance overhead for charge point operators serving commercial vehicle depots.

United Kingdom
17 Feb 2026 · date approximate

Source

Volvo launches EX30 Black Edition from £40,060 with exclusive Onyx Black finish and denim interior

Volvo has introduced a Black Edition trim for its all-electric EX30 crossover, priced from £40,060 for the Single Motor Plus version and rising to £48,860 for the Dual Motor Performance Ultra model. The trim is available exclusively in Onyx Black with high gloss black badging and features upcycled denim upholstery in an Indigo interior, alongside a standard heat pump to support ranges of 295 miles (Single Motor) and 279 miles (Dual Motor Performance). The EX30 Black Edition joins the EX40 and EC40 as the third Volvo EV to receive this trim level.

Why it matters

The new trim expands Volvo's EV product range in the UK market, offering fleet and retail buyers a distinctive specification at a defined price point. The standard heat pump inclusion addresses cold weather range concerns relevant to charging infrastructure planning and utilisation forecasts.

United Kingdom
17 Feb 2026 · date approximate

Volvo (se) · Source

Fleet electrification shifts from compliance to costs

IT Brief UK reports that fleet operators in the United Kingdom are moving beyond regulatory compliance as the primary driver for electrification, now prioritising total cost of ownership and operational efficiency. The shift reflects growing maturity in the fleet EV market, with procurement decisions increasingly based on financial performance rather than mandates alone. No specific figures or timelines were provided in the excerpt.

Why it matters

CPOs and infrastructure providers must adapt sales strategies to emphasise ROI and operational savings rather than compliance messaging. The trend signals more sophisticated fleet procurement processes, likely demanding detailed cost modelling and performance guarantees in charging tenders.

United Kingdom
17 Feb 2026 · date approximate

Source

Grid & Energy

SSEN Distribution launches £950 million subsea cable framework

Scottish and Southern Electricity Networks Distribution has announced a £950 million framework to invest in subsea cables across its network. The procurement is part of the distribution network operator's infrastructure upgrade programme in the United Kingdom. Details of the framework scope and timeline have not yet been disclosed.

Why it matters

A near billion pound subsea cable framework signals major grid reinforcement work that may create indirect opportunities for EV charging infrastructure, as stronger distribution networks are essential for supporting high power charge points in coastal and island communities.

United Kingdom
17 Feb 2026 · date approximate

SSEN Distribution (uk) · Source

Policy & Market

Trump criticises UK green energy deal with California Governor Newsom

Donald Trump has condemned a memorandum of understanding signed between UK Energy Secretary Ed Miliband and California Governor Gavin Newsom in London, calling it inappropriate for the UK to deal with Newsom. The agreement aims to deepen cooperation on scaling up clean energy technologies and enhance ties between businesses and researchers in Britain and California. Trump described Newsom's environmental work as a disaster, in comments reported by Politico.

Why it matters

The diplomatic friction signals potential complications for UK and California clean energy partnerships, and could affect cross border collaboration on charging infrastructure and technology development if the White House seeks to discourage such state level agreements.

United States
United Kingdom
17 Feb 2026 · date approximate

California (us) · Source