Skip to content

Daily EV news · UK · 25 February 2026

All UK EV news

Every item reviewed before publishing · sources cited inline

EV Charging

EV chargers planned for Warwick pub car park

A pub car park in Warwick is set to receive electric vehicle charging infrastructure, according to Warwick Nub News. No details on the number of charge points, operator, or installation timeline were disclosed in the brief report.

Why it matters

The proposal illustrates continued expansion of destination charging into hospitality venues, offering CPOs and installers potential partnership opportunities with pub operators seeking to attract EV-driving customers.

United Kingdom
25 Feb 2026 · date approximate

Source

UK raises EV charger grants to £500 per unit for homes and businesses

The UK government has increased its electric vehicle charging grant from £350 to £500 per charger for households, landlords and businesses. The policy change applies to new installations and marks a rise in public support for charge point deployment across domestic and commercial sites.

Why it matters

Higher grant levels reduce upfront costs for property owners and businesses installing charge points, potentially accelerating site rollout and improving project economics for CPOs targeting residential and workplace segments.

United Kingdom
25 Feb 2026 · date approximate

Source

West Midlands Combined Authority approves £14.5m scheme for 9,500 EV charge points

The West Midlands Combined Authority investment board has approved a £14.5m programme to install 9,500 electric vehicle charging points across the region, with delegated authority granted to senior officers to approve the business case and negotiate supplier contracts. Coventry City Council's cabinet member for jobs, regeneration and climate change voted against the delegation, citing concerns that around 2% of the budget (approximately £300,000) would fund WMCA staff rather than direct deployment, noting Coventry had already installed over 2,500 on street charge points by working directly with the Department for Transport.

Why it matters

The scheme represents a significant regional procurement opportunity for charge point suppliers, though internal governance disputes over administrative costs and contract authority may affect tender timelines. The debate highlights tension between centralised combined authority procurement and direct local authority delivery models in the UK public charging rollout.

United Kingdom
25 Feb 2026 · date approximate

Source

Arnold Clark Charge opens 60th UK site with six ultra-rapid chargers in Wolverhampton

Arnold Clark Charge has launched six ultra-rapid EV chargers at its Wolverhampton Motorstore on Pantheon Park, Wednesfield Way, marking the network's 60th site across the UK. The public hub offers charging at 55p per kWh, below the current UK average of 76p per kWh, with payment via the Arnold Clark app, roaming partners or contactless at the chargers. Customers can access a free coffee in branch while charging.

Why it matters

The milestone underscores Arnold Clark's rollout pace and competitive pricing strategy in the UK ultra-rapid segment. Procurement teams and site hosts can benchmark the 55p per kWh tariff and multi-payment model as the network expands beyond 60 locations.

United Kingdom
25 Feb 2026 · date approximate

Arnold Clark Charge (uk) · Source

Electric Vehicles

Alexander Dennis delivers second Enviro400 double-decker to Al's Coaches in Birkenhead

Alexander Dennis has delivered another Enviro400 double-decker bus to Al's Coaches, a Birkenhead operator. The delivery marks a repeat order for the UK bus manufacturer, though the announcement does not specify fleet size, delivery timeline or vehicle specifications. The news was reported via Google News aggregation.

Why it matters

Repeat orders from regional coach operators signal sustained demand for double-decker platforms in the UK bus market. For suppliers, tracking fleet expansion by independent operators like Al's Coaches can reveal procurement patterns outside major municipal contracts.

United Kingdom
25 Feb 2026 · date approximate

Alexander Dennis (uk) · Al's Coaches (uk) · Source

Land Rover Defender Sport to launch as electric-only model from £40,000

Jaguar Land Rover will introduce the Defender Sport as an EV-only variant, with pricing starting at £40,000. The announcement signals the marque's continued electrification strategy within its Defender range. Details on launch timing and charging specifications were not disclosed in the report.

Why it matters

A sub-£50,000 electric SUV from a premium brand may accelerate fleet adoption and workplace charging demand, particularly if corporate buyers specify the model for salary-sacrifice or pool-car schemes.

United Kingdom
25 Feb 2026 · date approximate

Land Rover (uk) · Source

West Midlands approves £31.5 million for 24 electric buses and charging kit on A34 and A45 Sprint routes

The West Midlands Combined Authority Investment Board has approved the full business case to spend £26 million on 24 tram-like electric buses and charging infrastructure for the Sprint project, plus £5.5 million for ticketing equipment. The scheme aims to create continuous bus priority routes linking Walsall, Birmingham and Solihull along the A34 and A45, with infrastructure work including new stops and extended bus lanes already under way in earlier phases. First announced in 2018 with a 2022 Commonwealth Games target, the project has faced delays from the pandemic and cost increases.

Why it matters

The approval unlocks a substantial electric bus and charging procurement for a high-profile rapid transit scheme, signalling renewed momentum after years of delay. Contractors and charge-point operators can now expect tenders for depot and route infrastructure to support the 24-vehicle fleet.

United Kingdom
25 Feb 2026

Birmingham Live (uk) · Source

Liverpool city region receives first of 100 electric buses for franchised network

Liverpool City Region Combined Authority has taken delivery of the first electric buses from a 100-vehicle fleet supplied by Wrightbus and Alexander Dennis Limited, set to enter service within months. The zero-emission double-deckers can run up to 275 miles on a single 90-minute charge and will operate under a new franchised network run by Stagecoach and Go-Ahead, announced in January. The rollout forms part of Metro Mayor Steve Rotheram's plan to return bus services to public control for the first time since 1986.

Why it matters

The 100-bus procurement signals substantial charging infrastructure demand across Liverpool's franchised network, with 90-minute turnaround charging likely requiring depot-based high-power installations. CPOs and charge-point suppliers should note the public-control model may centralise infrastructure tenders under the Combined Authority rather than individual operators.

United Kingdom
25 Feb 2026

LBN Daily (uk) · Source

Grid & Energy

Vehicle to grid technology could cut UK energy system costs by £70 billion, IMechE reports

The Institution of Mechanical Engineers has published findings showing that using electric vehicles for renewable energy storage through vehicle to grid systems could reduce UK energy infrastructure costs by £70 billion. The analysis examines how EVs can act as distributed storage assets to balance intermittent renewable generation. The report provides a policy and engineering perspective on integrating transport electrification with grid flexibility requirements.

Why it matters

CPOs and charge point operators planning bidirectional charging infrastructure can use this £70 billion cost saving figure to strengthen business cases for V2G capable installations. The IMechE endorsement may accelerate regulatory frameworks and procurement specifications that favour smart charging and grid services revenue streams.

United Kingdom
25 Feb 2026 · date approximate

Institution of Mechanical Engineers (uk) · Source

Policy & Market

West Midlands offers up to £3 million in funding for electric vehicle industry

The West Midlands region has announced up to £3 million in available funding for the electric vehicle industry. The BBC reports the initiative targets businesses working in the EV sector across the region. Details on eligibility criteria and application timelines were not specified in the brief announcement.

Why it matters

Regional capital programmes like this can accelerate charging infrastructure deployment and supply chain development, creating procurement opportunities for CPOs and installers seeking public or matched funding in the West Midlands.

United Kingdom
25 Feb 2026 · date approximate

Source

Autotrader publishes 2026 update on UK electric car grants

Autotrader has released a 2026 update detailing available grants for electric cars in the United Kingdom. The article provides current information on financial support schemes accessible to UK consumers purchasing electric vehicles. The update appears on the Autotrader news platform and is aimed at informing potential EV buyers about government and other grant opportunities.

Why it matters

Grant availability directly influences EV adoption rates and fleet purchasing decisions, affecting demand forecasts for charging infrastructure deployment. Procurement teams and CPOs need to track subsidy changes to align site rollout plans with expected vehicle uptake in target regions.

United Kingdom
25 Feb 2026 · date approximate

Autotrader (uk) · Source