Skip to content

Daily EV news · UK · 27 February 2026

All UK EV news

Every item reviewed before publishing · sources cited inline

EV Charging

Cheltenham residents oppose on-street EV chargers over congestion and safety fears

Residents of Lyefield Road East in Charlton Kings, Cheltenham, have objected to plans for electric vehicle charging points that would occupy four parking bays on their narrow one-way street. Derry Banwell and other homeowners argue the installation will worsen existing congestion near Charlton Kings Infant School, remove the only free parking spaces, and create safety risks for children during school drop-off and collection times. The residents say their concerns about the location have been ignored despite supporting the broader shift to sustainable transport.

Why it matters

The objections highlight a recurring challenge for charge point operators and local authorities: balancing rollout targets with community concerns over parking loss and traffic flow, particularly on residential streets near schools. Addressing site selection and stakeholder engagement early can reduce planning friction and deployment delays.

United Kingdom
27 Feb 2026

Source

CIHT publishes local authority guide for rolling out public EV charging networks

The Chartered Institution of Highways and Transportation has released a report titled Rolling out Electric Vehicle Charging Infrastructure: Advice for Local Authorities, offering practical guidance on strategy, planning, delivery and long term operation of public charging networks. The report, developed through national evidence, expert workshops and engagement with councils, industry partners and user groups, argues that early public provision unlocks private investment and builds confidence in EV uptake, and calls for chargepoint access to be treated as a public service meeting or exceeding PAS 1899 accessibility standards. It also highlights ongoing challenges including grid capacity limits and power upgrade delays.

Why it matters

The guidance gives local authorities a structured framework for procuring and deploying public charging infrastructure at scale, emphasising that public sector leadership can de-risk private investment. For CPOs and contractors, the report's focus on accessibility standards and long term operational contracts signals clearer specification requirements in upcoming council tenders.

United Kingdom
27 Feb 2026

CIHT (uk) · Source

UK public EV chargers outnumber petrol and diesel pumps for first time

Department for Transport data shows 116,052 electric vehicle chargers were operational across the UK as of 1 January 2026, more than double the estimated 60,802 petrol and diesel pumps at 8,329 forecourts. The pump figure is derived from Petrol Retailers Association station counts and RAC Foundation research showing an average of 7.3 pumps per site.

Why it matters

The milestone signals growing infrastructure confidence for fleet operators and charge point operators planning network expansions, while the 2 to 1 ratio suggests public charging capacity is outpacing legacy fuel infrastructure as procurement shifts toward zero emission vehicle support.

United Kingdom
27 Feb 2026

Source

UK extends home EV charger grant to March 2027 and raises cap to £500

The UK Government has extended the Electric Vehicle Chargepoint Grant until March 2027 and increased the maximum support from £350 to £500 per installation. The scheme, launched in 2023 and now covering renters, flat owners, homeowners without driveways and businesses, can also fund cross pavement gullies for on street charging where councils approve. Decarbonisation minister Keir Mather said the higher grant cuts installation costs by almost half, with home charging costing as little as 2p per mile.

Why it matters

The extended and enlarged grant widens the addressable market for residential charge point operators and installers, particularly in multi dwelling units and on street segments. Higher subsidy levels may accelerate procurement cycles for housing associations and local authorities planning 2025 to 2027 rollouts.

United Kingdom
27 Feb 2026

RAC · Source

Gloucestershire emergency services trial electric vehicle charging infrastructure

Emergency services in Gloucestershire are testing electric vehicle charging facilities as part of a transition to zero-emission fleets. The trial, reported by Punchline-Gloucester.com, involves blue-light vehicles and supporting infrastructure to assess operational readiness for electrification. Specific deployment numbers and timelines were not disclosed in the available excerpt.

Why it matters

Public sector fleet electrification creates procurement opportunities for depot charging solutions and demonstrates operational feasibility for high-utilisation vehicles. Emergency service trials provide valuable use-case data for CPOs targeting fleet and public authority contracts.

United Kingdom
27 Feb 2026 · date approximate

AMP (uk) · Source

Trojan Energy enters administration with nearly £30 million debt

Scottish EV charging firm Trojan Energy has collapsed into administration carrying almost £30 million in debt, according to The Times. The company, known for its flat and flush pavement charging technology, had raised significant venture funding but failed to achieve commercial scale.

Why it matters

The failure of a well funded charging infrastructure provider highlights ongoing viability risks in the sector, particularly for hardware innovators targeting kerbside residential charging. Procurement teams and local authorities evaluating pavement charging solutions will need to reassess supplier stability and technology longevity in their tender processes.

United Kingdom
27 Feb 2026 · date approximate

Trojan Energy (uk) · Source

Industry calls for EV charging signage to match petrol stations in UK road regulations

InstaVolt, Chargy, Electric Vehicles UK and Octopus Electric Vehicles have responded to an Office for Zero Emission Vehicles survey urging the Government to mandate clear, consistent signage for EV charge points across motorways, A roads and residential streets. InstaVolt's 2025 consumer polling found that more than half of drivers actively look for roadside signs to find EV chargers, and nearly nine in 10 say clear physical signage is important to them. The operators want National Highways and local authorities to treat EV charging on an equal footing with petrol stations in national road sign regulations.

Why it matters

Standardised signage could reduce site invisibility for charge point operators who have installed infrastructure but lack regulatory parity with fuel forecourts, potentially improving utilisation and driver confidence. The OZEV call for evidence signals possible regulatory change that could affect how CPOs plan site visibility and local authority wayfinding obligations.

United Kingdom
27 Feb 2026 · date approximate

Source

Pod Point waives upfront home charger cost under Pod Drive subscription promotion

Pod Point is offering UK households a home EV charger with no upfront cost through its Pod Drive subscription service. The promotion removes the initial purchase barrier for residential charging hardware. Details on subscription pricing and contract terms were not disclosed in the announcement.

Why it matters

The zero upfront model may accelerate domestic charger adoption and shift procurement from capital expenditure to recurring revenue, a trend that could reshape residential CPO business cases and installer cashflow.

United Kingdom
27 Feb 2026 · date approximate

Pod Point (uk) · Source

UK tax tribunal rules 5% VAT rate applies to public EV charging under 1,000 kWh per month

The First-tier Tribunal has ruled that the 5% domestic VAT rate, rather than the standard 20% rate, should apply to public EV charging when a driver uses less than 1,000 kWh per month at a particular premises. The case was brought by community charge point operator Charge my Street, supported by tax advice from Deloitte, which argued that existing VAT law already covered this scenario. HMRC's arguments against the lower rate were rejected by the tribunal, which heard the case in October and published its decision this week.

Why it matters

The ruling could significantly reduce operating costs for CPOs and make public charging more affordable for drivers without home chargers, potentially accelerating EV adoption among those reliant on on street infrastructure. Charge point operators may need to review their VAT accounting and pricing structures to reflect the lower rate for typical usage patterns.

United Kingdom
27 Feb 2026 · date approximate

Tax tribunal (uk) · Source

UK Transport Committee launches inquiry into supercharging the EV transition with focus on charging infrastructure

The UK Parliament's Transport Committee has begun its inquiry into supercharging the electric vehicle transition, with an initial focus on the current state of charging infrastructure. The inquiry will examine how well the existing network serves drivers and what improvements are needed to accelerate EV adoption.

Why it matters

Parliamentary inquiries of this nature can shape future policy, funding mechanisms and regulatory frameworks for EV charging, potentially influencing procurement strategies and the competitive landscape for charge point operators across the UK.

United Kingdom
27 Feb 2026 · date approximate

Transport Committee · UK Parliament · Source

Electric Vehicles

London Ambulance Service receives £690,525 from DfT as part of £4 million NHS EV charging rollout

The Department for Transport has announced £4 million in funding to install hundreds of new EV charging sockets across NHS sites, adding to more than 1,000 sockets previously announced. London Ambulance Service received £690,525 to install chargers at its Waterloo headquarters, Heathrow airport and other hubs in the capital, supporting the electrification of its fleet including Ford ambulances, Ford Explorer cars and Mercedes eVito vehicles. The funding aims to help decarbonise 460 million miles of NHS travel each year as the service phases out diesel vehicles.

Why it matters

The £4 million DfT programme creates immediate procurement opportunities for charge point operators to deliver NHS depot charging infrastructure across England. With over 1,000 sockets already committed and hundreds more now funded, the scheme represents a significant public sector pipeline for CPOs specialising in fleet and depot installations.

United Kingdom
27 Feb 2026

London Ambulance Service NHS Trust (uk) · Source

Policy & Market

Aberdeen council considers withdrawing from Hydrogen Hub partnership

A council is in discussions to exit its partnership with the Aberdeen Hydrogen Hub, according to reports from Aberdeen and Grampian Chamber of Commerce. The talks signal potential changes to the governance or funding structure of the hydrogen infrastructure project in Aberdeen, Scotland. No specific reasons for the potential withdrawal or timeline have been disclosed in available reports.

Why it matters

The Aberdeen Hydrogen Hub has been positioned as a key refuelling site for hydrogen vehicles, and any partner withdrawal could affect procurement timelines or investment confidence for fleets and infrastructure operators planning hydrogen deployments in the region.

United Kingdom
27 Feb 2026 · date approximate

Aberdeen & Grampian Chamber of Commerce (uk) · Source