Daily EV news · UK · 23 March 2026
EV Charging
Greenwheel Electric wins planning consent for 18-bay ultra-rapid charging hub in West Dunbartonshire
West Dunbartonshire Council has granted planning permission to Greenwheel Electric for an electric vehicle charging and business hub at Lomondgate. The facility will include 18 ultra-rapid EV charging bays powered by renewable energy, alongside office space, meeting rooms, and a retail outlet. Local MP Douglas McAllister met with the Greenwheel Electric team to discuss the project.
Why it matters
The approval adds an 18-bay ultra-rapid site to Scotland's public charging network, combining commercial amenities with renewable-powered infrastructure. For CPOs and contractors, the mixed-use model at Lomondgate signals growing interest in destination charging hubs that integrate retail and workspace.
Fastned starts work on 16 bay ultra-rapid hub at Cromwell Farm on A1 near Newark
Fastned has begun construction of a 16 bay ultra-rapid charging station at Cromwell Farm, Newark NG23 6JF, on the A1 northbound corridor. The hub will feature chargers delivering up to 400 kW, adding up to 333 kilometres of range in 10 minutes depending on vehicle type. The site, adjacent to the OK Diner, is described as a flagship location in Fastned's UK expansion and will become one of the largest stations in its UK portfolio.
Why it matters
The 16 bay configuration and 400 kW capability make this one of the highest capacity public charging hubs on a major UK trunk route, setting a benchmark for ultra-rapid infrastructure scale. For procurement teams and site developers, the A1 location and diner co-location model offer a proven template for high throughput charging deployment.
Pod Point and Knowles Fleet launch salary sacrifice home charger scheme
Pod Point has partnered with Knowles Fleet to offer home EV chargers through salary sacrifice, allowing drivers to spread installation costs across their lease term with no upfront payment. The arrangement delivers Income Tax and National Insurance savings of up to 45 percent depending on tax band, while participants can earn up to £100 per year through Pod Rewards for smart charging. Pod Point has completed over 250,000 installs across the UK.
Why it matters
The scheme removes a key barrier to home charging adoption by eliminating upfront costs, potentially expanding the addressable market for residential charge point installations. For CPOs and installers, salary sacrifice partnerships with fleet operators represent a scalable route to volume residential deployments with predictable payment terms.
West Suffolk Council updates electric vehicle charging infrastructure
West Suffolk Council has announced progress on updating its electric vehicle charging network. The council is advancing its EV charging rollout, though specific figures on the number of chargers or sites were not disclosed in the available excerpt. The update was published via the council's official news channels and picked up by Google News.
Why it matters
Local authority charging upgrades signal ongoing procurement activity in the UK public sector. Councils expanding or refreshing EV infrastructure create opportunities for charge point operators and suppliers bidding on municipal contracts.
Hackney launches nine rapid chargers in rollout targeting 50 sites by 2030
Hackney Council has switched on nine 100kW rapid chargers supplied by ESB Energy, the first phase of a programme to deploy more than 50 rapid units by 2030. Eligible residents without home charging can access discounted overnight rates (1am to 5am) and preferential daytime tariffs through the ESB Energy EV Plug In app under a new Hackney Light and Power plan. The chargers, installed in existing parking bays and powered by 100 per cent renewable energy, are designed to serve larger vehicles including delivery vans and commercial fleets.
Why it matters
The phased rollout signals sustained procurement opportunity in a London borough prioritising rapid infrastructure for residents and commercial operators. Discounted tariff structures tied to a council branded energy plan may influence how other local authorities structure concession terms and resident engagement models.
Electric Vehicles
UK Department for Transport forecasts over 21,000 zero-emission bus orders by 2035 with double-deck models leading demand
The UK Department for Transport has published projections showing more than 21,000 zero-emission buses will be ordered by 2035, according to Sustainable Bus. The forecast indicates double-deck buses will dominate the procurement pipeline as the UK accelerates its public transport decarbonisation programme. The figures provide a demand signal for manufacturers and charging infrastructure operators planning capacity for the next decade.
Why it matters
This official forecast gives CPOs and infrastructure developers a clear volume target for planning depot charging installations and grid connections to support over 21,000 electric buses. The emphasis on double-deck models will shape charging hardware specifications, as these vehicles typically require higher power outputs and longer dwell times than single-deck equivalents.
William Stobart's WS Holdco acquires EV Cargo's UK logistics arm
WS Holdco, the investment vehicle of William Stobart, has acquired the UK logistics operations of EV Cargo. The transaction brings EV Cargo's British fleet and distribution network under Stobart's control, though financial terms were not disclosed. The deal was reported by Fleetpoint, a commercial vehicle industry publication.
Why it matters
Fleet acquisitions in the logistics sector often trigger infrastructure reviews, potentially creating opportunities for charging operators to bid on depot electrification projects as new owners assess vehicle transition roadmaps. The Stobart name carries weight in UK haulage, and any shift toward electric commercial vehicles at the acquired sites could generate significant charging demand.
William Stobart (uk) · WS Holdco (uk) · EV Cargo (uk) · Source
Policy & Market
E.ON Next launches refreshed EV tariffs with overnight rates from 8p per kWh
E.ON Next has updated its electric vehicle tariffs, offering overnight charging from 8p per kWh on Next Drive Smart v6.1 and 9p per kWh on Next Drive Fixed v19, both available from 12am to 6am. The supplier claims customers charging off peak can save £401 per year on the Smart tariff and £377 per year on the Fixed tariff compared to the energy price cap. Both tariffs include no exit fees, a free one year Zoom EV subscription for public charging discounts, and a donation to the Woodland Trust.
Why it matters
Competitive overnight rates below 10p per kWh strengthen the business case for home charging infrastructure and may influence CPO pricing strategies in the residential and workplace segments. The bundled Zoom EV subscription signals continued integration between home and public charging ecosystems, relevant for operators planning customer loyalty programmes.