Skip to content

Daily EV news · UK · 21 April 2026

All UK EV news

Every item reviewed before publishing · sources cited inline

EV Charging

UK to allow pavement charging gullies without planning permission from summer 2025

The UK government will introduce legislation this summer making pavement charging gullies permitted development, removing the need for planning permission. The change aims to help millions of drivers without driveways charge at home, where specialist tariffs cost around 8p per kWh compared to 72p per kWh at public chargers according to Zapmap. Officials expect the new rules to take effect by the end of 2025.

Why it matters

The regulatory shift could unlock a major new residential charging segment for installers and equipment suppliers, addressing a key barrier for urban EV adoption. Home charging infrastructure demand may surge as cost savings of up to 64p per kWh make EVs economically viable for the millions of UK households currently reliant on expensive public networks.

United Kingdom
21 Apr 2026 · date approximate

Source

UK public EV charge points now outnumber petrol pump nozzles by nearly two to one

The United Kingdom now has more than 118,000 public EV charge points compared with around 60,800 petrol pump nozzles, according to data released alongside the government backed Electric Road Trip campaign. The government has committed to rolling out an additional 100,000 local public chargers over the coming years, while the number of petrol stations has declined steadily from 38,000 in 1964 to roughly 8,500 today.

Why it matters

The milestone demonstrates the scale of UK charging infrastructure deployment and signals continued procurement opportunities as the government targets 100,000 additional local public chargers. For CPOs and contractors, the data underscores a market that has already surpassed legacy refuelling infrastructure in unit terms, with further growth planned through public funding and planning reforms.

United Kingdom
21 Apr 2026 · date approximate

Source

UK to legislate permitted development rights for cross pavement EV charging this year

Energy Secretary Ed Miliband has announced new measures to support home EV charging, with legislation expected later this year to introduce permitted development rights for cross pavement charging solutions and associated charging points. The guidance aims to help renters, flat dwellers and households without driveways install chargers, with cross pavement solutions involving small gulleys cut into pavements to feed cables without obstructing pedestrians. Kerbo Charge CEO Michael Goulden welcomed the announcement as decisive action needed to expand charging access.

Why it matters

Permitted development rights will remove planning barriers for on street residential charging infrastructure, opening a significant new market for installers and charge point operators targeting properties without off street parking. The legislative change addresses a key barrier to EV adoption in urban areas where millions of UK households lack driveway access.

United Kingdom
21 Apr 2026 · date approximate

Ed Miliband (uk) · Source

Openreach uses shared depot charging at Welch Group site in first live Voltempo DepotCharge deployment

Openreach is accessing bookable depot charging at a Welch Group facility through the first operational deployment of Voltempo's DepotCharge solution. The Depot Charging as a Service model, integrated with Corpay's fleet payment platform following a recent partnership announcement, allows Welch Group to retain operational control while offering third-party fleets secure access to excess charging capacity. Voltempo says the shared infrastructure approach provides a commercially viable electrification route for both small operators and large corporate fleets.

Why it matters

The live deployment demonstrates a revenue-generating model for depot owners to monetise spare charging capacity, potentially accelerating infrastructure rollout by reducing upfront cost barriers. For procurement teams, the integrated infrastructure, energy and payment solution offers a turnkey access route to depot charging without capital investment in dedicated sites.

United Kingdom
21 Apr 2026 · date approximate

Openreach (uk) · Welch Group (uk) · Source

UK policy shake up aims to help motorists without driveways charge EVs

The Guardian reports on a regulatory shake up in the United Kingdom designed to improve access to EV charging for motorists who lack off street parking. The changes target the significant proportion of UK households that rely on on street or public charging infrastructure.

Why it matters

For charge point operators and contractors, policy moves to serve the 'no driveway' segment signal growing public sector commitment to on street and residential charging rollouts, potentially unlocking new procurement pipelines and funding streams.

United Kingdom
21 Apr 2026 · date approximate

Source

Electric Vehicles

Nottingham to host Electric Vehicle Showcase in Old Market Square

Nottingham will hold an Electric Vehicle Showcase in Old Market Square, according to Transport Nottingham. The event aims to promote EV adoption in the city. No dates, exhibitor numbers or charging infrastructure details were disclosed in the available excerpt.

Why it matters

Public showcases can accelerate local EV uptake and signal municipal commitment to charging rollout, potentially influencing procurement pipelines for charge point operators and equipment suppliers in the East Midlands.

United Kingdom
21 Apr 2026 · date approximate

Transport Nottingham (uk) · Source

Aberdeen's failed hydrogen bus fleet cost almost £14 million

Aberdeen's hydrogen bus project, which has now been scrapped, cost the city nearly £14 million according to BBC reporting. The fleet failed to deliver on its promise of clean public transport, leading to its termination. The figure underscores the financial risks councils face when pioneering alternative fuel infrastructure without proven operational models.

Why it matters

The failure highlights procurement risks for local authorities investing in emerging fuel technologies and may influence future tender decisions favouring battery electric buses over hydrogen. It serves as a cautionary case study for CPOs evaluating total cost of ownership and technology maturity in zero emission transport contracts.

United Kingdom
21 Apr 2026 · date approximate

Aberdeen City Council (uk) · Source

Chinese OEMs unveil UK van models at CV Show targeting commercial fleet market

Several Chinese original equipment manufacturers launched light commercial vehicles at the CV Show aimed at the UK van market, according to AM-online. The article does not specify which brands or how many models were presented. The move signals growing competition in the British commercial vehicle sector from Asian manufacturers.

Why it matters

Fleet operators evaluating electric vans for last mile delivery may see more choice and pricing pressure, while charge point operators should monitor whether Chinese LCV adoption accelerates demand for depot and en route charging infrastructure.

United Kingdom
21 Apr 2026 · date approximate

Chinese OEMs (cn) · Source

Isuzu D-Max EV debuts in UK as first one tonne electric pick-up, on sale May 2026 from £59,995

Isuzu has unveiled the UK specification D-Max EV at the Commercial Vehicle Show 2026 in Birmingham, with sales starting in May. The vehicle is the first electric pick-up in the UK to offer a one tonne payload and 3.5 tonne towing capacity, available in extended and double cab formats across two trims: eDL40 from £59,995 excluding VAT and eV-Cross from £62,495 before VAT. Both variants feature a dual motor, permanent four wheel drive powertrain delivering 200bhp and 256lb ft of torque, with 0 to 62mph in 10.1 seconds.

Why it matters

The arrival of a one tonne payload electric pick-up opens commercial fleet electrification opportunities for construction, utilities and site logistics operators who previously lacked a battery electric option in this weight class. Pricing below £63,000 before VAT positions the D-Max EV within reach of fleets seeking to replace diesel light commercials while retaining towing and load capacity.

United Kingdom
21 Apr 2026 · date approximate

Isuzu (global) · Source

Brighton bus operator receives first fully electric fleet

A bus company in Brighton has taken delivery of its first fully electric fleet, according to The Argus. The article marks the arrival of the vehicles but does not specify the number of buses, manufacturer or charging infrastructure details. The milestone was reported as a celebration by the operator.

Why it matters

Fleet electrification by municipal or contracted bus operators signals growing demand for depot charging installations and grid upgrades. The rollout may offer lessons on procurement timelines and infrastructure readiness for other UK local authorities planning zero emission bus schemes.

United Kingdom
21 Apr 2026 · date approximate

The Argus (uk) · Source

Policy & Market

UK Government to announce measures accelerating clean technology deployment

The UK Government is set to unveil a wave of measures aimed at accelerating the deployment of clean technologies, under a 'double down not back down' approach. The announcement signals continued commitment to green investment and infrastructure rollout. The story was reported by BusinessGreen.

Why it matters

For CPOs and charging infrastructure developers, accelerated clean tech deployment policies could unlock faster permitting, additional funding mechanisms or strengthened mandates that improve the business case for EV charging investment across the UK.

United Kingdom
21 Apr 2026 · date approximate

Source

Government announces planning overhaul to speed clean energy and EV charging rollout

The Department for Energy Security and Net Zero has unveiled what it calls the biggest overhaul of planning, land access and grid connection processes since the start of the Government's clean energy mission. The reforms include streamlining planning rules to cut delays in grid upgrades and renewables, and legislation this summer to introduce permitted development rights for EV charging, enabling cross pavement charging solutions and associated charge points. The Government will imminently launch a consultation on building regulations changes and an Ability to Charge requirement, aiming to increase EV charging provision in new buildings and major renovations while giving renters and leaseholders easier access to request and install charge points.

Why it matters

Permitted development rights for EV charging could significantly reduce planning barriers and accelerate deployment of on street and residential charging infrastructure. The proposed Ability to Charge requirement for new builds and renovations would expand the addressable market for charge point operators and installers, particularly in the residential sector where access has been limited for renters and leaseholders.

United Kingdom
21 Apr 2026 · date approximate

Source