Skip to content

Daily EV news · UK · 23 April 2026

All UK EV news

Every item reviewed before publishing · sources cited inline

EV Charging

Isle of Man fire crews isolate smoking EV charging point at residential property

Two fire appliances attended a residential property on the Isle of Man on Thursday morning after reports of smoke from an electric vehicle charging point. Crews isolated the electricity supply and worked with Manx Utilities to make the premises safe. The Isle of Man Fire and Rescue Service issued safety guidance following the incident, advising users to employ only approved charging equipment, avoid damaged cables or connectors, never use extension leads, and maintain clear, well ventilated charging areas.

Why it matters

The incident underscores operational safety risks for charge point operators and installers, reinforcing the need for rigorous equipment standards and maintenance protocols. Fire service guidance may influence procurement specifications and site design requirements for residential and commercial charging infrastructure.

United Kingdom
23 Apr 2026 · date approximate

Source

Wingham Wildlife Park opens 12-bay EV charging hub

Wingham Wildlife Park in the United Kingdom has installed a new 12-bay electric vehicle charging hub on site. The installation was reported by The Energyst, marking an expansion of charging infrastructure at the visitor attraction.

Why it matters

The deployment demonstrates how leisure and tourism venues are adding multi-bay charging facilities to serve visitors, creating procurement opportunities for CPOs targeting high-footfall destinations with extended dwell times.

United Kingdom
23 Apr 2026 · date approximate

Wingham Wildlife Park (uk) · Source

Over 75% of NHS hospital sites lack EV chargers

More than three quarters of NHS hospital sites in the United Kingdom do not have electric vehicle charging infrastructure, according to findings reported by Cinch. The data highlights a significant gap in charging provision across the health service estate, though the report does not specify the total number of sites surveyed or the methodology used.

Why it matters

The finding points to a major procurement opportunity across hundreds of NHS sites as the health service works to decarbonise its fleet and accommodate staff and visitor EV adoption. Charge point operators targeting public sector frameworks may find NHS trusts an underserved segment with potential for large scale rollouts.

United Kingdom
23 Apr 2026 · date approximate

NHS (uk) · Source

InstaVolt cuts UK off-peak rapid charging to 55p per kWh for 11 hours

InstaVolt has reduced its off-peak rapid charging tariff to 55 pence per kilowatt hour across an 11 hour window in the United Kingdom. The move applies to the company's rapid charging network and represents a pricing adjustment aimed at encouraging off-peak usage. The tariff change was reported by The EV Report via Google News.

Why it matters

Lower off-peak pricing can shift demand patterns and improve asset utilisation for charge point operators, while making rapid charging more cost competitive for fleet and private users during extended overnight and daytime windows.

United Kingdom
23 Apr 2026 · date approximate

InstaVolt (uk) · Source

Energy Saving Trust highlights gaps in UK public EV chargepoint coverage

The Energy Saving Trust has published analysis identifying gaps in the UK's public electric vehicle charging infrastructure. The report examines geographic and demographic disparities in chargepoint availability across the country. It was released via the Trust's website and distributed through Google News channels.

Why it matters

Understanding where public charging infrastructure is lacking helps local authorities and charge point operators prioritise deployment to meet government targets and ensure equitable access. The findings may inform future procurement strategies and funding allocation for public charging networks.

United Kingdom
23 Apr 2026 · date approximate

Energy Saving Trust · Source

Cumberland Council advances electric vehicle charging programme across region

Cumberland Council is progressing its electric vehicle charging infrastructure programme, though the article does not specify the number of chargers, investment value or deployment timeline. The initiative forms part of the council's broader transport electrification strategy for the Cumberland region in the United Kingdom.

Why it matters

Local authority EV charging programmes signal upcoming procurement opportunities for charge point operators and installers, particularly as UK councils accelerate infrastructure rollout to meet national net zero targets.

United Kingdom
23 Apr 2026

Cumberland Council (uk) · Source

Electric Vehicles

Go North East launches next-generation Enviro200EV electric buses on passenger routes

Go North East has introduced the next generation Alexander Dennis Enviro200EV electric buses into passenger service, marking the first deployment of the updated model. The operator is rolling out the new vehicles across its network in North East England. Route-one.net reported the service debut, though specific route details and fleet numbers were not disclosed in the available excerpt.

Why it matters

The deployment signals growing confidence in second-generation electric bus platforms among major UK operators, potentially influencing future procurement specifications and charging infrastructure requirements as fleets scale beyond pilot phases.

United Kingdom
23 Apr 2026 · date approximate

Go North East (uk) · Alexander Dennis (uk) · Source

Stagecoach deploys 22 Yutong U11DD double-deck electric buses in Surrey

Stagecoach has introduced 22 new Yutong U11DD electric double-deck buses into service in Surrey, according to Route One. The rollout marks a fleet expansion for the operator in the region, adding battery-electric capacity to its local network. No further operational or charging infrastructure details were disclosed in the brief announcement.

Why it matters

The deployment signals continued uptake of Chinese OEM hardware by a major UK bus group and implies associated depot charging infrastructure work in Surrey. Fleet operators scaling electric double-deckers create repeat opportunities for charge-point suppliers and energy-management contractors.

United Kingdom
23 Apr 2026 · date approximate

Stagecoach (uk) · Yutong (global) · Source

Chinese car brand targets UK market with new electric vehicle launch

A Chinese automotive manufacturer has launched a new electric vehicle in the United Kingdom, described as having an incredibly strong market entry. The brand is positioning itself to compete in the UK EV market, though specific sales targets, model details, and charging infrastructure plans were not disclosed in the available information. The launch represents continued expansion of Chinese EV makers into European markets.

Why it matters

New EV entrants to the UK market typically drive demand for public charging infrastructure and may partner with charge point operators for destination or dealership charging. Chinese manufacturers entering Europe have historically invested in charging networks to support their vehicle sales, creating potential procurement opportunities for CPOs and infrastructure providers.

United Kingdom
23 Apr 2026 · date approximate

Chinese car brand (unnamed in excerpt) (cn) · Source

Policy & Market

UK tax authority to appeal ruling on EV charging VAT

HM Revenue and Customs will appeal a February First-tier Tribunal ruling that would cut VAT on public EV charging from 20% to 5%, matching the domestic rate. Judge Harriet Morgan ruled in favour of non-profit Charge My Street, citing legislation that defines electricity as domestic use if consumption stays below 1,000 kWh per month at a single premises, a threshold Deloitte says individual EV users rarely exceed. The VAT gap currently generates approximately £85 million annually for the Treasury, according to Zapmap data cited by Fleet News.

Why it matters

If the appeal fails, charge point operators may file claims for overpaid VAT covering several years, reshaping revenue models and potentially lowering public charging costs. The case challenges a long-standing disparity between home and public charging rates that has drawn sector criticism.

United Kingdom
23 Apr 2026 · date approximate

UK tax authority (uk) · Source