Skip to content

Daily EV news · UK · 13 July 2026

All UK EV news

Every item reviewed before publishing · sources cited inline

EV Charging

Allstar fleet customers gain access to Aegis Energy's commercial EV charging network under three year Corpay deal

Aegis Energy has signed a three year commercial partnership with Corpay, enabling Allstar fleet customers to charge at its network of sites designed for larger commercial vehicles, either via advance booking or plug and go. The agreement supports Allstar's Commercial Charging Payment Network rollout and will give Corpay customers access to Aegis Energy's expanding UK infrastructure, which targets 30 hubs by 2030. Aegis Energy positions the network as bridging the gap between public charging and private depot infrastructure for fleets transitioning to electric vehicles.

Why it matters

The partnership expands commercial fleet access to purpose built charging infrastructure without requiring operators to invest in their own depot estates, while Aegis Energy secures a major fleet payment partner ahead of its planned 30 site rollout by 2030. For procurement teams, the deal signals growing interoperability between fleet payment platforms and semi private charging networks tailored to heavier vehicle classes.

United Kingdom
13 Jul 2026 · date approximate

Allstar · Aegis Energy · Source

Stockton on Tees approves EV charging hub for Portrack Lane car park

Stockton on Tees Council has granted planning permission for an electric vehicle charging hub at a car park near Portrack Lane. The approval, reported by Teesside Live, advances local charging infrastructure in the North East England borough. No details on the number of charge points or operator were disclosed in the available excerpt.

Why it matters

The decision adds to the pipeline of publicly accessible charging sites in the UK and signals continued local authority support for EV infrastructure rollout. Contractors and charge point operators targeting council led schemes will watch for tender or delivery announcements.

United Kingdom
13 Jul 2026 · date approximate

Source

Drax takes control of Aldi's UK EV charging network

Drax has assumed control of the EV charging network operated across Aldi's UK stores, according to DirectorsTalk Interviews. The move positions the power generation company as the operator of charging infrastructure at one of Britain's largest grocery chains. No financial terms or site numbers were disclosed in the announcement.

Why it matters

The deal signals consolidation in retail charging as established energy firms acquire operational control of supermarket networks. For CPOs and installers, it may reshape procurement routes and maintenance contracts at a major grocery estate.

United Kingdom
13 Jul 2026 · date approximate

Drax (uk) · Aldi (uk) · Source

Stormont's free EV charging scheme records 180 bookings in seven months

Northern Ireland's Stormont estate has logged almost 180 bookings on its free electric vehicle charging scheme during the first seven months of operation, according to the Belfast Telegraph. The initiative offers complimentary charging to visitors at the government complex. The uptake figures provide an early snapshot of demand for public sector hosted charging infrastructure in the region.

Why it matters

The booking data offers procurement teams and charge point operators a benchmark for utilisation rates at government sites offering free charging, informing business case assumptions for similar public sector deployments. It also highlights the operational model of reservation based access, which can help manage capacity at high profile locations.

United Kingdom
13 Jul 2026 · date approximate

Stormont (uk) · Source

Plans unveiled to revamp Sunderland city centre electric vehicle charging hub

Plans have been announced to revamp an electric vehicle charging hub in Sunderland city centre. The proposals were reported by MSN, though specific details on the number of chargers or investment figures were not disclosed in the available excerpt.

Why it matters

City centre charging hub upgrades signal continued public sector commitment to EV infrastructure in the North East of England, potentially creating procurement opportunities for chargepoint operators and installers targeting local authority contracts.

United Kingdom
13 Jul 2026 · date approximate

Source

Electric Vehicles

Edinburgh electric bus blocks junction for two hours after breakdown

A Lothian Buses electric service 24 vehicle stopped at a busy Edinburgh junction between Lauder Road and Grange Loan, remaining stationary from approximately 4pm to at least 6pm while drivers navigated around it. Lothian introduced its first fully electric buses in 2017 and added electric double deckers in 2024. The operator has been approached for comment on the incident.

Why it matters

Public breakdowns of electric buses can influence procurement confidence and highlight the operational resilience questions that fleet managers and local authorities must address when transitioning to zero emission fleets.

United Kingdom
13 Jul 2026 · date approximate

Edinburgh (uk) · Source

McGill's Buses takes Scottish Government to tribunal over rejected £4.3 million zero-emission bus funding

McGill's Buses, owned by Sandy and James Easdale, has filed a legal challenge with the Competition Appeal Tribunal after the Scottish Government rejected its £4.3 million funding application for 33 zero-emission electric buses from Alexander Dennis. In March 2026, Transport Scotland awarded £45 million from the Scottish Zero Emission Bus Challenge Fund Phase 3 to Ember, Stagecoach, Rock Road, Lothian and First Bus, with Ember receiving the largest share of £13 million for 100 Chinese electric coaches. McGill's alleges the government breached the UK Subsidy Control Act 2022 by failing to conduct a separate subsidy control assessment and by funding new competing routes rather than fleet upgrades.

Why it matters

The tribunal case could reshape how Scottish zero-emission bus subsidies are allocated and scored, potentially affecting future procurement rounds and the balance between incumbent operators upgrading fleets and new entrants launching services. The challenge also highlights tensions over domestic manufacturing support, with McGill's proposing Alexander Dennis vehicles while the largest award went to Chinese coaches.

United Kingdom
13 Jul 2026 · date approximate

McGill's (uk) · Source

UK HGV registrations drop 14.7% in Q2 2026 as zero emission share edges to 1.0%

New heavy goods vehicle registrations in the UK fell 14.7% to 8,687 units in the second quarter of 2026, according to the Society of Motor Manufacturers and Traders. Zero emission HGV uptake rose 4.7% in the quarter, lifting market share from 0.8% to 1.0% year on year, though first half volumes dropped 6.6% compared with 2025 when ZEHID funding supported adoption. The SMMT cited higher vehicle costs, long grid connection waits and limited public charging as barriers, despite support from the Plug In Truck Grant, Depot Charging Scheme and ZEHID programme.

Why it matters

The modest rise in zero emission share to 1.0% underscores the infrastructure and grid connection bottlenecks that CPOs and depot planners must address to unlock fleet electrification at scale. Faster depot approvals and a national charging strategy remain critical to building operator confidence and accelerating procurement of electric HGVs.

United Kingdom
13 Jul 2026

Source

Falcon Buses deploys electric buses in Surrey

Falcon Buses has introduced electric buses into service in Surrey, marking a rollout in the UK region. The deployment represents the operator's move toward electrified public transport, though specific fleet numbers and charging infrastructure details were not disclosed in the announcement.

Why it matters

The Surrey rollout signals growing demand for depot charging solutions as regional bus operators electrify fleets, creating procurement opportunities for charge point operators and infrastructure suppliers in the UK public transport sector.

United Kingdom
13 Jul 2026

Falcon Buses · Source

Jaama wins up to 10 year Metropolitan Police fleet software contract covering 5,000 vehicles

Jaama has secured a 7+1+1+1 year contract with the Metropolitan Police Service to provide its Key2 fleet and workshop management software for more than 5,000 vehicles across Greater London. The fleet, which includes response vehicles, armed units and forensic assets, travels over 52 million miles annually. Jaama was selected as the Most Advantageous Tender following a year long, four stage competitive process assessed on technical performance, commercial value, social value, health and safety and business continuity. The contract was announced at the National Association of Police Fleet Managers event.

Why it matters

This landmark public sector award demonstrates growing institutional commitment to digital fleet management systems at scale, with potential read across for other large public fleets considering software procurement. The extended contract structure and rigorous tender process signal that fleet software is now treated as critical infrastructure, relevant for suppliers targeting long term public sector partnerships.

United Kingdom
13 Jul 2026 · date approximate

Jaama (uk) · Metropolitan Police (uk) · Source

Alpine unveils A110 FUTURE concept at Goodwood, signalling electric sports car direction

Alpine has presented the A110 FUTURE concept at the Goodwood Festival of Speed in the United Kingdom, offering a preview of the brand's upcoming electric sports car generation. The concept showcases Alpine's design and engineering approach for its transition to electric powertrains in the performance vehicle segment.

Why it matters

The shift by performance marques like Alpine to electric platforms signals growing OEM commitment to EV technology across all segments, potentially driving demand for high power charging infrastructure at premium locations and motorsport venues.

United Kingdom
13 Jul 2026

Alpine · Source

Mercedes unveils 680 hp AMG CLA 45 with 330 kW charging and 670 km range at Goodwood

Mercedes revealed its 2027 Mercedes-AMG CLA 45 4MATIC+ at the Goodwood Festival of Speed, featuring three axial flux electric motors producing 500 kW (680 hp) and 1,759 Nm of torque. The vehicle uses an 800 volt architecture enabling up to 330 kW charging, taking the 94 kWh battery from 10% to 80% in 22 minutes, with 670 km WLTP range and acceleration from 0 to 100 km/h in 2.7 seconds.

Why it matters

The 330 kW peak charging capability and 800 volt architecture signal growing demand for ultra-rapid charging infrastructure capable of serving high performance EVs. Fleet operators and charge point operators targeting premium segments will need to plan for installations exceeding current 350 kW standards as vehicles like the CLA 45 enter service from 2027.

United Kingdom
13 Jul 2026

Mercedes-AMG · Source

Policy & Market

UK softens electric vehicle mileage tax but industry warns timing still threatens EV uptake

The Treasury has confirmed it will scrap mandatory mileage checks for cars under three years old and simplify fleet licensing rules under the Electric Vehicle Excise Duty (eVED) pay-per-mile charge due from April 2028. While fleet and consumer groups welcome the concessions, industry leaders including Electric Vehicles UK CEO Tanya Sinclair and New AutoMotive CEO Ben Nelmes warn the fundamental tax still risks making electric cars more expensive to run at the wrong moment for the transition.

Why it matters

Charge point operators and fleet procurement teams face continued uncertainty over the policy framework that will shape EV running costs and adoption rates from 2028. The mixed industry response signals that the tax may still dampen demand for electric vehicles among commercial fleets and consumers, potentially affecting utilisation forecasts for charging infrastructure investments.

United Kingdom
13 Jul 2026

Source

McGill's Buses launches legal challenge against ScotZEB3 award decisions

Scottish bus operator McGill's Buses has initiated legal proceedings to overturn decisions made under the ScotZEB3 programme, which funds zero emission bus deployments in Scotland. The challenge targets award outcomes from the third round of the Scottish Government's zero emission bus scheme. Route One reports the operator is contesting the allocation process, though specific award values and affected routes have not been disclosed.

Why it matters

Legal challenges to public procurement decisions can delay zero emission bus rollouts and create uncertainty for vehicle manufacturers and charging infrastructure suppliers bidding on future Scottish transport electrification tenders. The outcome may influence how Transport Scotland structures subsequent funding rounds and evaluates competing bids.

United Kingdom
13 Jul 2026 · date approximate

McGill's Buses (uk) · Source