Skip to content

Daily EV news · US · 27 February 2026

All US EV news

Every item reviewed before publishing · sources cited inline

EV Charging

Sturgis City Commission approves EV charging station alongside street project changes

The Sturgis City Commission in the United States has approved adjustments to a street project and confirmed it will proceed with installing an EV charging station. The decision was reported by Wilcox Newspapers, though specific details on the station's location, capacity or funding were not disclosed in the available excerpt.

Why it matters

Municipal approval signals another US city adding public charging infrastructure, relevant for CPOs and contractors tracking local government procurement pipelines. The pairing with street works may indicate integrated civil engineering opportunities for firms bidding on combined projects.

United States
27 Feb 2026 · date approximate

Source

Electric Vehicles

Connecticut study finds 93% of bus yards have capacity for electric fleet transition

Clean Transportation Communities of Southern CT surveyed depot operators across New Haven, New London and Middlesex Counties, analysing fleet mileage, depot locations and bus quantities against utility capacity maps. The research found that 1,252 buses, representing 93.2% of the districts' fleets, can be accommodated at depots with sufficient electrical power for charging. Connecticut law mandates full electric school bus transition in select districts by 2030 and statewide by 2040.

Why it matters

The findings suggest most existing depot infrastructure can support electric school bus charging without major grid upgrades, reducing a key barrier for procurement teams planning fleet electrification. The 7% shortfall identifies specific sites where CPOs and utilities must coordinate capacity expansion ahead of the 2030 and 2040 deadlines.

United States
27 Feb 2026

Source

Nissan cancels 2026 Leaf S launch in US, removing cheapest NACS DC fast charging option

Nissan has cancelled the US launch of the entry level 2026 Leaf S, which was expected to retail at $26,855 including destination charge with a 52 kWh battery. The model would have been the cheapest electric vehicle equipped with a NACS DC fast charging port, though it retains SAE J1772 for AC charging. Customers can now only select from three trims with 75 kWh batteries: S+, SV+, and Platinum+.

Why it matters

The cancellation removes the most affordable NACS equipped EV from the market, potentially affecting charging network planning for budget conscious fleet operators. CPOs targeting lower cost vehicle segments may see reduced demand for NACS infrastructure at entry level price points.

United States
27 Feb 2026

Nissan (global) · Source

Springfield and Chicopee receive US federal funding for electric school buses

Springfield and Chicopee, Massachusetts, have been awarded federal funding to purchase electric school buses, according to WWLP. The grants are part of a broader US programme supporting the transition to zero emission school transport. Specific award amounts and the number of buses to be procured were not disclosed in the report.

Why it matters

The awards signal continued federal support for depot charging infrastructure tied to school fleets, creating procurement opportunities for charging hardware and installation contractors in Massachusetts municipalities.

United States
27 Feb 2026 · date approximate

Source