Skip to content

Daily EV news · UK · 10 February 2026

All UK EV news

Every item reviewed before publishing · sources cited inline

EV Charging

Derbyshire business owner criticises M1 junction disruption from electric forecourt roadworks

A business owner near an M1 junction in Derbyshire has described traffic conditions as "complete havoc" due to ongoing roadworks for a new electric vehicle charging forecourt, according to the Derbyshire Times. The report highlights local disruption during construction of the charging site, though specific details on the forecourt operator, timeline or capacity were not disclosed in the excerpt.

Why it matters

The complaint underscores the planning and community relations challenges CPOs face when deploying high traffic charging hubs near major road infrastructure. Managing construction impact and stakeholder communication remains critical to securing future site approvals in similar locations.

United Kingdom
10 Feb 2026 · date approximate

Source

Ordnance Survey models EV charging rollout for Slough Borough Council

Ordnance Survey has worked with Slough Borough Council to model electric vehicle charging infrastructure deployment across the borough. The geospatial data specialist is supporting the council's planning for a more sustainable charging network, though specific site numbers or investment figures were not disclosed in the announcement.

Why it matters

Local authority procurement of geospatial modelling tools signals a data driven approach to siting public chargers, potentially reducing costly misplacement and improving utilisation rates for operators bidding on council tenders.

United Kingdom
10 Feb 2026 · date approximate

Slough Borough Council (uk) · Ordnance Survey (uk) · Source

EV charging operator opens hub at Tunbridge Wells leisure park

An EV charging operator has launched a new charging hub at a leisure park in Tunbridge Wells. The article, published by Insider Media Ltd, reports on the facility's opening but does not specify the number of chargers installed or the operator's identity in the excerpt provided. The development adds to the UK's public charging infrastructure at a retail and leisure destination.

Why it matters

Leisure park sites offer dwell time that suits destination charging economics, and the Tunbridge Wells location signals continued rollout activity in the South East. Procurement teams tracking site partnerships and CPOs expanding retail footprints will note this as part of the broader trend of charging hubs at non-fuel retail venues.

United Kingdom
10 Feb 2026 · date approximate

EV charging operator (uk) · Source

Fastned submits plans for 12-bay ultra-rapid charging hub near Kilmarnock Premier Inn

Fastned UK Ltd has applied for planning permission to build an electric vehicle charging station with 12 ultra-rapid chargers, rated between 100kW and 400kW, north of the Premier Inn near Kilmarnock. The site, close to the A71 and B7081 junction at Moorfield Roundabout, will include an unmanned amenity kiosk with self-service vending, seating, and an accessible toilet. The application was reported in local planning notices.

Why it matters

A 12-bay ultra-rapid hub from an established CPO signals continued investment in Scotland's strategic road network, offering procurement teams a benchmark for high-power infrastructure near hospitality sites. The 100kW to 400kW range and amenity provision reflect evolving design standards for driver experience at en-route charging locations.

United Kingdom
10 Feb 2026 · date approximate

Source

Be.EV selects Titan EV platform to automate maintenance across 800 UK charging bays

UK charge point operator Be.EV has chosen Titan Cloud's Titan EV platform to automate maintenance and repair workflows across its network of more than 800 public charging bays, primarily in northern England. The AI driven platform integrates with Fuuse to provide asset tracking, reporting and maintenance capabilities aimed at improving charger uptime. The announcement comes as the UK public charging network reached more than 86,000 devices by October 2025, up around 23% year over year according to government data.

Why it matters

The procurement signals growing CPO investment in predictive maintenance software to reduce downtime and operational costs as networks scale. Integration with existing charge management systems like Fuuse is becoming a key requirement for asset optimisation platforms competing in the UK market.

United Kingdom
10 Feb 2026 · date approximate

Be.EV (uk) · Titan EV (uk) · Source

Fuuse becomes first UK firm to win dual certification for lamppost EV charging

Fuuse has secured dual certification for its lamppost EV charging technology, marking a first in the United Kingdom. The certification validates the company's approach to converting street lighting infrastructure into charge points. EV Fleet World reported the milestone, which positions Fuuse to compete for local authority and fleet operator contracts.

Why it matters

Dual certification removes a key procurement barrier for councils and fleet buyers evaluating lamppost charging, while Fuuse's first mover status may accelerate tender shortlisting as authorities seek proven, compliant on street solutions.

United Kingdom
10 Feb 2026 · date approximate

Fuuse (uk) · Source

Duracell launches £200 million E-Charge network across UK

Duracell has announced a £200 million investment to roll out its E-Charge electric vehicle charging network in the United Kingdom. The initiative marks the battery brand's entry into the UK EV infrastructure market. Details on the number of sites, charger types and deployment timeline were reported by Regit.

Why it matters

A £200 million commitment from a household brand signals fresh capital and potential competition in the UK charging sector, creating new procurement opportunities for equipment suppliers and installation contractors. The scale of investment suggests a multi-year rollout that could reshape regional charging availability.

United Kingdom
10 Feb 2026 · date approximate

Duracell E-Charge (uk) · Source

Electric Vehicles

Suzuki launches first full electric vehicle in UK market

Suzuki has introduced its first battery electric vehicle to the UK market, as reported by the Lancashire Telegraph. The launch marks the Japanese manufacturer's entry into the zero emission passenger car segment, though specific model details, pricing and range figures were not disclosed in the available excerpt.

Why it matters

A new OEM entering the BEV market expands the pool of electric vehicles requiring public and workplace charging infrastructure. Suzuki's dealer network and customer base may drive demand for destination charging at retail and service locations across the UK.

United Kingdom
10 Feb 2026 · date approximate

Suzuki (global) · Source

NGED switches 1,000 company cars to leased EVs with Ayvens, targeting 4,474 tonnes annual CO2 saving

National Grid Electricity Distribution has partnered with Ayvens to transition its fleet of 1,000 vehicles from ownership to contract hire electric vehicles. The distribution network operator, which covers the South West, Midlands and South Wales, expects the move to save 4,474 tonnes of CO2 emissions annually. Ayvens supported the changeover by waiving early termination fees and providing consultancy on funding structures, vehicle selection and driver engagement.

Why it matters

A 1,000 vehicle fleet electrification by a major UK distribution network operator signals sustained demand for workplace charging infrastructure and fleet leasing models. The partnership demonstrates how leasing providers are structuring deals to overcome ownership barriers, a procurement approach likely to be replicated by other utilities and large fleet operators.

United Kingdom
10 Feb 2026 · date approximate

NGED (uk) · Ayvens (uk) · Source

Policy & Market

So Energy head says UK BEVs hit 23 to 24 percent of 2025 new car sales as public chargers reach 86,000

Michelle Little, head of propositions at So Energy, reports that battery electric vehicles captured roughly 23 to 24 percent of new car sales in the UK across 2025, with over 2.8 million plug in vehicles now registered, including more than 1.83 million pure BEVs and about 982,000 plug in hybrids. The public charging network expanded to more than 86,000 devices by October 2025, a year on year increase of around 23 percent. Writing for an industry publication, Little argues the mobility and energy sectors must converge into a digital, data driven landscape to make EV charging easier and more accessible in 2026.

Why it matters

The 23 percent annual growth in public charging infrastructure and near one in four BEV market share signal sustained demand for charge point deployment and grid integration services. Procurement teams can benchmark network expansion rates and fleet electrification timelines against these national figures when planning 2026 tenders.

United Kingdom
10 Feb 2026

Source

UK confirms 3p per mile electric vehicle tax from April 2028

Chancellor Rachel Reeves has announced a new distance-based tax for electric vehicle drivers in the UK, charging 3p per mile for battery EVs and 1.5p per mile for plug-in hybrids from April 2028. A driver covering 10,000 miles annually would pay £300 under the scheme, which the Treasury says addresses declining fuel duty revenue as motorists switch to electric. The Electric Vehicle Excise Duty will be collected alongside existing Vehicle Excise Duty.

Why it matters

The new charge adds a predictable operating cost to fleet and public charging economics from 2028, potentially influencing total cost of ownership calculations for charge point operators and their commercial customers. Rural and high mileage users may face steeper bills, which could affect demand patterns at motorway and destination charging hubs.

United Kingdom
10 Feb 2026

Rachel Reeves (uk) · Source