Daily EV news · UK · 16 April 2026
EV Charging
Leamington Spa shopping park gains new EV charging hub
A new electric vehicle charging hub has opened at a shopping park in Leamington Spa, according to TheBusinessDesk.com. The installation adds public charging infrastructure to the retail location in the United Kingdom. No details on charger count, power ratings or operator were provided in the available excerpt.
Why it matters
Retail site charging deployments signal growing integration of EV infrastructure into everyday destinations, creating procurement opportunities for shopping centre operators and CPOs targeting high dwell time locations.
Vauxhall partners with Kerbo Charge as over 40% of UK councils commit to cross-pavement charging by end of 2026
Vauxhall has joined Kerbo Charge's Electric Streets of Britain campaign, which aims to expand residential on-street charging infrastructure. The partnership comes as more than 40% of UK local authorities have committed to providing cross-pavement charging solutions by the end of 2026, addressing a key barrier for EV adoption among residents without off-street parking.
Why it matters
The commitment from over 40% of councils represents significant near-term procurement opportunities for cross-pavement charging hardware and installation services. For CPOs and suppliers, this signals a maturing market for residential on-street solutions that can unlock EV adoption in urban areas where traditional driveway charging is not feasible.
Vauxhall (uk) · Kerbo Charge (uk) · Stellantis (global) · Source
Cotehele becomes first National Trust historic site in Cornwall to install EV chargers
The 800 year old Cotehele estate near Saltash has installed eight electric vehicle charging bays in its main car park, marking the first historic National Trust property in Cornwall to offer the service. Visitors can now charge their vehicles while exploring the medieval house, gardens and wider Tamar Valley estate.
Why it matters
The installation demonstrates how heritage and leisure destinations are integrating EV infrastructure to meet visitor demand, opening procurement opportunities for charge point operators targeting the cultural attractions sector across the National Trust's extensive UK property portfolio.
Liverpool installs 300 on-street chargers, doubling network to 670 points across 130 residential streets
Liverpool City Council has installed 300 new on-street EV charging points across more than 130 residential streets, expanding its network from approximately 370 to over 670 chargers. Delivered by Otaski Energy Solutions and J McCann & Co Ltd, the project was funded through the Government's On-Street Residential Chargepoint Scheme and targets the 40 per cent of UK households without off-street parking. The lamppost-mounted units offer charging speeds up to 5kW and run on 100 per cent renewable energy backed by REGOs, with the Council aiming to reach 2,000 on-street points by May 2027.
Why it matters
The near-doubling of Liverpool's on-street network demonstrates the scale and pace at which local authorities can deploy lamppost charging when grant funding and resident engagement align. For CPOs and contractors, the 2,000-point target by May 2027 signals sustained procurement opportunities in residential lamppost conversions and REGO-backed power supply agreements.
Wakefield secures £230 million investment including all-electric bus depot and 1,000 homes
Wakefield is set to receive £230 million in regional investment that includes plans for an all-electric bus depot and 1,000 new homes, according to the Wakefield Express. The development forms part of a broader regeneration programme for the UK region, though specific timelines and the depot's charging capacity were not disclosed in the announcement.
Why it matters
The all-electric bus depot will require significant charging infrastructure procurement, creating opportunities for CPOs and equipment suppliers to bid on a fleet-scale installation in the Yorkshire area.
42% of UK councils to offer cross pavement charging by end of 2026, Vauxhall research finds
Vauxhall research based on Freedom of Information requests to 134 councils across England, Scotland and Wales reveals that 56 tier one councils either currently offer or will provide cross pavement charging by the end of 2026. Seven councils already have live schemes, 21 are trialling the technology, and 28 plan rollouts in 2026. Installation costs vary widely, from free provision to over £1,000, and the Electric Vehicle Association England highlighted in a January report that residents face unclear application processes and inconsistent information from local authorities.
Why it matters
The fragmented approach to cross pavement charging creates uncertainty for CPOs and installers bidding on residential charging work, with no standard procurement framework or cost structure across councils. Wide variation in fees and approval processes complicates business cases for suppliers seeking to scale home charging solutions in streets without off street parking.
Rightcharge launches Gold Card offering fleet drivers up to 35% savings across four UK charging networks
Rightcharge has introduced a Gold Card subscription that reduces rapid and ultra-rapid charging costs to 59p per kWh and fast charging to 49p per kWh, delivering savings of up to 35% against standard pay as you go rates. The card, priced at £4.99 per driver per month, provides access to more than 11,300 charge points operated by Sainsbury's Smart Charge, Ionity, BP Pulse and BeEv across the UK. The AA piloted the scheme, which builds on Rightcharge's standard card covering 79% of the UK's public charging network.
Why it matters
Multi-network fleet charging subscriptions that cut costs by a third may shift procurement decisions away from single-operator contracts, particularly for mixed-route fleets needing broad geographic coverage. The pricing structure also signals competitive pressure on network operators to offer volume discounts through aggregator partnerships rather than direct fleet deals.
Electric Vehicles
Brighton and Hove Buses debuts first 16 electric double-decks
Brighton and Hove Buses has introduced its first 16 electric double-decker buses into service, marking the operator's initial deployment of battery electric vehicles in its fleet. The rollout was reported by Route One, a UK transport trade publication, though the article excerpt does not specify the vehicle manufacturer, charging infrastructure provider, or deployment timeline.
Why it matters
This deployment signals a municipal bus operator in a major UK coastal city entering the electric double-decker market, creating potential demand for depot charging infrastructure and maintenance contracts. The scale of the initial order suggests further procurement phases may follow as the operator evaluates performance and seeks to decarbonise its wider fleet.
Stagecoach updates Barnstaple electric bus rollout schedule
Stagecoach has issued a revised timeline for the introduction of electric buses in Barnstaple, according to Torbay Weekly. The operator is deploying new battery electric vehicles on routes in the Devon town, though specific fleet numbers and delivery dates were not disclosed in the available excerpt. The update provides clarity on the rollout schedule for the North Devon service area.
Why it matters
Fleet electrification timelines from major operators like Stagecoach signal depot charging infrastructure requirements and potential procurement windows for charge point operators. Delays or accelerations in bus deployments directly affect the pace of depot infrastructure build out and grid connection planning in regional markets.
Grid & Energy
Flooded electricity substations could cost UK economy £90 million per day, warns Water Magazine
Water Magazine reports that flooding of electricity substations poses a potential £90 million daily economic loss to the UK. The warning highlights infrastructure vulnerability to extreme weather events. The publication context suggests growing concern over climate resilience in critical energy infrastructure.
Why it matters
Substation flooding threatens grid reliability that EV charging networks depend on, potentially disrupting operations and delaying rollout plans. CPOs and site developers must factor flood risk into location planning and resilience investments to protect charging infrastructure.