Skip to content

Daily EV news · US · 15 April 2026

All US EV news

Every item reviewed before publishing · sources cited inline

EV Charging

US public DC fast charging adds 3,500 ports in Q1 2026, surpassing 71,000 total stalls

The United States installed around 3,500 new DC fast charging ports in the first quarter of 2026, bringing the national total to 71,398 public ports across 15,121 sites as of 1 April, according to the Alternative Fuels Data Center. That quarterly figure represents a substantial increase over the 2,700 ports added in Q1 2025, with deployment now running at over 1,000 stalls per month. The average site size has grown to 4.7 ports, up from 4.1 a year earlier.

Why it matters

The accelerating rollout and larger average site footprint signal stronger demand for multi dispenser tenders and faster grid connection timelines. Procurement teams should note that network ownership definitions remain fluid, with some operators such as Chargepoint acting as software platforms rather than asset owners, which affects contract and warranty structures.

United States
15 Apr 2026

Source

EnergySage reviews Tesla Universal Wall Connector for residential and fleet EV charging

EnergySage has published a review of the Tesla Universal Wall Connector, highlighting its fast charging capabilities and compatibility across multiple EV brands. The review examines the unit's technical specifications and installation flexibility for both home and commercial applications. The article appears on EnergySage, a US platform that provides consumer guidance on clean energy products.

Why it matters

The Universal Wall Connector's cross brand compatibility may influence procurement decisions for fleet operators and workplace charging schemes seeking standardised hardware. Reviews from established energy platforms help CPOs and site hosts assess equipment reliability and installation requirements before committing to multi unit deployments.

United States
15 Apr 2026 · date approximate

Tesla (us) · EnergySage (us) · Source

ChargePoint shares rise 15.3% amid market speculation

ChargePoint (CHPT) shares jumped 15.3% in a single session, according to Yahoo Finance coverage via Google News. The report examines whether the stock's momentum can be sustained. No operational or contract details were disclosed in the brief market update.

Why it matters

Share price movements at major CPO ChargePoint often reflect investor sentiment on the broader charging infrastructure market and can signal shifts in funding availability or M&A interest relevant to procurement teams tracking supplier stability.

United States
15 Apr 2026 · date approximate

ChargePoint (us) · Source

Electric Vehicles

Charlottesville introduces first electric school buses to fleet

Charlottesville has added its first electric school buses to its transport fleet, according to The Daily Progress. The deployment marks the city's initial step into electrifying pupil transport, though the report does not specify the number of vehicles or supplier details. The rollout forms part of broader US efforts to transition school bus fleets from diesel to battery electric power.

Why it matters

School bus electrification programmes create predictable charging infrastructure demand at depots and can inform procurement strategies for fleet operators managing scheduled, high utilisation routes. Early municipal adoptions signal emerging opportunities for depot charging equipment suppliers and maintenance contractors in the education transport sector.

United States
15 Apr 2026 · date approximate

Charlottesville (us) · Source

Ford and Renault partner on European electric vehicle production

Ford and Renault have announced a partnership to collaborate on electric vehicle production in Europe, according to Procurement Magazine. The agreement aims to strengthen both manufacturers' positions in the European EV market, though specific production volumes and facility locations were not disclosed in the available excerpt.

Why it matters

Joint manufacturing partnerships can reshape the European charging infrastructure landscape by influencing where new EV volumes will be concentrated, potentially creating procurement opportunities for charging operators in regions where production facilities are established or expanded.

Europe
France
United States
15 Apr 2026 · date approximate

Ford (us) · Renault (fr) · Source