Skip to content

Daily EV news · UK · 24 February 2026

All UK EV news

Every item reviewed before publishing · sources cited inline

EV Charging

Leeds launches cross-pavement EV charging for residents without driveways

Leeds City Council has introduced cross-pavement EV charging infrastructure designed for residents who lack off-street parking. The scheme allows eligible households to install charging points that route cables safely across pavements to reach vehicles parked on the street. The initiative, reported by Safer Highways, aims to expand charging access in urban areas where traditional driveway installations are not feasible.

Why it matters

Cross-pavement solutions address a critical barrier to residential EV adoption in dense urban settings, potentially opening new procurement opportunities for councils and CPOs targeting on-street charging markets. The Leeds rollout may serve as a template for other UK local authorities seeking to meet statutory charge-point targets in areas with limited off-street parking.

United Kingdom
24 Feb 2026

Leeds City Council (uk) · Source

Brighton & Hove Council opens private charging scheme for residents without off-street parking

Brighton & Hove City Council has launched a private charging initiative aimed at residents who lack off-street parking. The scheme is designed to accelerate EV adoption by providing charging access to those unable to install home chargers. Details on the number of sites or installation timeline were not disclosed in the available excerpt.

Why it matters

The programme addresses a key barrier to EV uptake in urban areas, potentially creating procurement opportunities for charge point operators and installers serving dense residential zones. Councils expanding on-street or community charging models signal growing public sector demand for scalable residential infrastructure.

United Kingdom
24 Feb 2026 · date approximate

Brighton & Hove City Council (uk) · Source

Connekt EV founder Johnny Manning seeks £20 million to scale UK charging network

Johnny Manning is raising £20 million to expand Connekt EV, a UK electric vehicle charging operator. The funding round aims to accelerate the company's network growth across the United Kingdom. Insider Media Ltd reported the capital raise, which Manning describes as having no alternative plan.

Why it matters

A £20 million raise signals significant expansion plans for a UK charge point operator, creating potential procurement opportunities for equipment suppliers and installation contractors. The scale of capital sought suggests Connekt EV is preparing for multi-site deployment that could reshape regional charging infrastructure.

United Kingdom
24 Feb 2026 · date approximate

Connekt EV (uk) · Source

Bridgwater plans EV charging hub near M5 services

A new electric vehicle charging hub is planned near M5 motorway services in Bridgwater, according to the Bridgwater Mercury. The proposal aims to expand charging infrastructure in the Somerset area, though specific details on the number of chargers, operator, or timeline were not disclosed in the available excerpt.

Why it matters

Motorway adjacent charging hubs represent high utilisation sites for CPOs and fleet operators. Proximity to M5 services positions the facility to capture long distance and commercial traffic in the South West corridor.

United Kingdom
24 Feb 2026 · date approximate

Source

TfL approves up to 43 new rapid EV chargers across London

Transport for London has approved the installation of up to 43 new rapid EV chargers at locations across the capital. The rollout forms part of TfL's ongoing effort to expand public charging infrastructure in London. Details on specific sites and deployment timelines were reported by ianVisits.

Why it matters

The approval signals fresh procurement opportunities for charge point operators and contractors bidding on TfL infrastructure projects. Rapid charger installations in high footfall urban areas can inform site selection and partnership strategies for CPOs targeting London's public charging market.

United Kingdom
24 Feb 2026 · date approximate

TfL (uk) · Source

Electric Vehicles

Uber extends zero-emission EV taxi option to two Yorkshire cities at no extra cost

Uber has expanded its zero-emission ride option to two cities in Yorkshire, allowing passengers to request electric vehicle trips without paying a surcharge. The rollout follows similar deployments in other UK markets and aims to accelerate the shift to electric taxis on the platform. The Yorkshire Post reported the move as part of Uber's broader commitment to becoming a fully electric mobility platform in the UK.

Why it matters

The expansion signals growing EV taxi fleet penetration in regional UK cities, likely increasing demand for public and depot charging infrastructure to support driver operations. Procurement teams and charge point operators should monitor similar rollouts for network planning and partnership opportunities with ride-hailing platforms.

United Kingdom
24 Feb 2026 · date approximate

Uber (global) · Source

Policy & Market

HMRC holds petrol and diesel mileage rates steady, trims LPG and public EV charging allowances from 1 March 2026

HM Revenue and Customs has published its quarterly Advisory Fuel Rates and Advisory Electric Rates effective 1 March 2026, leaving petrol and diesel reimbursement rates unchanged while reducing LPG rates across all engine sizes and adjusting public electric charging allowances. The rates, reviewed every quarter, guide employers and fleet operators on tax efficient mileage payments for company vehicles. Employers may continue using the previous rates for up to one month after the new figures take effect.

Why it matters

Fleet operators managing mixed or electrified company car programmes must update reimbursement policies to stay compliant and control costs. Stability in petrol and diesel rates offers administrative continuity, but the trim to public EV charging allowances may influence how businesses structure charging support for drivers on the road.

United Kingdom
24 Feb 2026 · date approximate

HMRC (uk) · Source